A Divine Shout

“So he bowed their hearts down with hard labor; they fell down, with none to help. Then they cried to the Lord in their trouble, and he delivered them from their distress.”

-Psalm 107:12-13

Not for one moment should I see myself as good or perfected. My goodness is grounded, founded, and harvested in God alone, who is both outside and inside of me; I see this as a blessing. If I elevate myself, the Lord will bow my heart before Him; even if it brings me depression. God will humble me until I see that no human being, or any worldly fleeting pleasure, will come to my rescue. Many times, if not every instance, God must thrust me into the dirt, His creation, to see that I am His; He is my only remedy, my only help in time of need (which harmonizes consistently and continually with my existence). To use borrowed speech from the great theologian C.S. Lewis: God whispers in my pleasure, but shouts in my pain. Redemption calls for a divine shout to cause deaf ears to hear. 

“He pours contempt on princes and makes them wander in trackless wastes; the upright see it and are glad, and all wickedness shuts its mouth. Whoever is wise, let him attend to these things; let them consider the steadfast love of the Lord.”

– Psalm 107:40, 42-43

But, above all, let us know that this shout is an action of love. 


Leave a Reply

