Rejoicing, Not Merely Coping

In my trials, I have learned to cope. I have disciplined myself to pass them off. I have done a swell job at shunning them, and hiding them away. I am even able to bring myself to praise You despite them, but my joy is stripped away in those trying times. I can not hold fast to joy, but I merely mediocrely accept them. You do not command us to merely accept them in faith, but You call us to rejoice in them. Where is my joy rooted then? If I can let a petty earthly tribulation strip my joy, then where is my faith? Where is my hope? Have I simply hoped in the prosperity that You bring to my life? It is a scary truth, to question where my faith hinges, because if my joy in You and Your salvation can be trampled by minuscule trials, then have I really embraced Your grace to the full potential? I know that I will never complete sanctification, for that is a continuos work of You, but how can I let the world reign over my joy in You? This is a sin that can not fester. This is a sin that must be tamed, and how is this done? It is done in faith: true acknowledgment of who You are and trusting in the promises You have given me, that everything is for Your good pleasure. Your word tells me that this surrender to radical faith leads me to peace.

Therefore, since we have been justified by faith,we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ

Romans 5:1

In peace I can find joy; in joy I can find hope. Your hope does not dissapoint, because Your love has drenched my heart by the ultimate sacrifice of Your son.

And not only that, but we also glory in tribulations, knowing that tribulation produces perseverance; and perseverance, character; and character, hope. Now hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out in our hearts by the Holy Spirit who was given to us.

Romans 5:3-5

Thank you Lord for Your love. Give me the faith to rejoice in my trials, not merely cope.

Leave a Reply

