Something, Rather Than Everything

God convicts us through many vessels, tonights was through the lyrics of a worship song: “with all creation I sing, praise to the King of Kings, You are my everything, and I will adore You.” Many times I do not realize what I proclaiming to the masses when I recite lyrics in worship. Countless worship songs include several faith-required loaded statements, and we have mundanely numbed ourselves to saying them over and over without conviction, negating to challenge ourselves to analyze our words. This song includes one of those loaded declarations: “You are my everything.” 

Is God my everything? Have I really set Him apart as the very nourishment for my existence? If I have a God rooted in the church, in a casual two-day a week worship service, then my God can be stripped away and I can still survive. That closeted maid I call God is not my everything; He is my guilt eraser, my get-out-of-jail-free card. We have made God into something rather than everything.

My God is a day-to-day, moment-to-moment, second-by-second Father, friend, sustainer and savior, the only one that keeps my heart beating, both spiritually and physically. That is a God worthy to be called “my everything”; one that we should devote not merely something to, but our very essence, effort, and longing to; everything that we have. 

Lord forgive me for the times I have secluded you as only something, and not everything in my life. You are God, and I am not. Lead me in faith to live a Christ-centic life.

Leave a Reply

