Heated

The heat I will take for this post will not be unknown to me. I have received derogatory and vulgar messages for my posts before, but I feel like there must be something said (Romans 8:31).

I am not going to act like I am completely informed on the present situation with North Carolina and marriage. Although it is my home state, responsive Tumblr, Facebook, and Twitter posts have given me the rise to respond. I just cannot remain silent.

Yes, homosexuality is noted as a sin in the Bible. (And not only in Leviticus and the Old Testament: Romans 1:24-27; 1 Corinthians 6:9-10; 1 Timothy 1:10; Jude 1:7). That statement alone will spur comments and messages of name-calling – bigoted, hateful, hypocritical, outdated, sheltered, etc. I realize the front that Biblical ethics creates, but I am not ashamed of the gospel (Romans 1:16-17). For in the gospel there is hope in light of sin and its detrimental effects.

Christians have taken a serious lashing for condemning the homosexual community, and that pains me. Should sin be condemned? Absolutely. Should Christians be on the front-lines for moral purity? Definitely. But where is the presentation of the gospel to these people? I was once consumed in sin, just as much as any homosexual is – just not in the same perceptive form. You look at the Biblical references for homosexuality, and they are coupled with so many others sins: murder, adultery, slander, hate, etc – all of which, according to Jesus, I am guilty of. Why are Christians, myself included, singling out homosexuality as the root of all evil? Sin is the root of all evil, and we were once in pursuit of it – lusting after sin (Romans 3:9-10; 1 John 1:8).

Christ died for us while we were still sinners! (Romans 5:8; 2 Corinthians 5:21). We may need to stop trying to correct these people’s morals, and point them to the cross, where Christ paid for the sins of those he loves. Seeing the cross for all it truthfully is will cause them to be disturbed by their sin themselves. We are stopping short in selling them our morals and not showing them the redemptive work of Jesus. Were we not delivered from such detrimental sin, and should we not also seek to proclaim the opportunity of deliverance to these people? The difference between Christians and homosexuals is not necessarily the homosexual’s sin and the Christian’s lack thereof, it is the Christian’s received grace of the cross (1 John 1:8; Romans 3:23-24; Romans 7:14-20,24-25). Do not sacrifice the opportunity to preach the gospel for being morally exalted.

To my Christian brothers: Preach redemption as the means to condemnation. Point them to Jesus where there is no condemnation (Romans 8:1). Do not elevate their sin above the sin that your were delivered from, for you were once plagued by the disease of total sin. Stop selling them ethics, and start showing them Jesus; He will restore them.

To the homosexual: I so desire and plead with you to fall under the power of grace. God took a wretch like me, and restored and revived me. I pray you feel convicted to do the same. The struggle can be won, indeed it already has been through the sacrifice and resurrection of Jesus Christ. Reach out, fall to your knees, believe and depend on Him. I realize the foolishness that this may seem to be, but I assure you it will be your only means of relief. I cannot necessarily explain it to you, but God can transform your life completely if you find your joy and satisfaction in Him. If He could do it for a sinner like me, He can certainly do it for you. How?

If you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. For with the heart one believes and is justified, and with the mouth one confesses and is saved. For the Scripture says, “Everyone who believes in him will not be put to shame.” For there is no distinction between Jew and Greek; for the same Lord is Lord of all, bestowing his riches on all who call on him. For “everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.”

Romans 10:9-13

Leave a Reply

