Theology of Huck Finn

Then she told me all about the bad place, and I said I wished I was there. She got mad then, but I didn’t mean no harm. All I wanted was to go somewheres; all I wanted was a change, I warn’t particular. She said it was wicked to say what I said; said she wouldn’t say it for the whole world; she was going to live so as to go to the good place. Well, I couldn’t see no advantage in going where she was going, so I made up my mind I wouldn’t try for it. But I never said so, because it would only make trouble, and wouldn’t do no good.

Now she had got a start, and she went on and told me all about the good place. She said all a body would have to do there was to go around all day long with a harp and sing, forever and ever. So I didn’t think much of it. But I never said so. I asked her if she reckoned Tom Sawyer would go there, and she said not by a considerable sight. I was glad about that, because I wanted him and me to be together.

The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, Chapter 1Mark Twain

We short-change the gospel so often. We don’t live like we believe in a great God or even a great heaven. I find myself asking, “Why don’t people run to me seeking what I have and what they are missing?” It is because we don’t act as if we have found the hope for humanity. There are non-christians acting more wholesome and compassionate than Christians. We do not honor the God we seek to display. Lord save me from my apathetic compartmentalized Christianity.

Secondly, so many in the church don’t even have the correct theology to implement doxologically. One can not glorify a God they do not truly know. How can we expect those to live in a manner worthy of the gospel when they have the gospel all wrong?! My submission to Christ wasn’t out of a selfish desire for paradise after death; it was a response to overpowering truth and love. We should not merely seek the things of God, but God Himself.

We are a falsified body of shallow believers. We collect what we need from God (a clear conscience and bragging rights) and forsake the very commands He instructed. And if we even do strive to be a witness for Christ, it is only on Sundays (maybe even Wednesdays too) and we expect ourselves to make an impact in the world. Sometimes we really need to step back and analyze not what we believe, but we are actually portraying with our lives. Because when all is said and done, onlookers don’t see what you think, they see what you do.

I sniffle through Youtube every once and a while, and I stumble across these “mainstream Christians” being interviewed on major networks for the whole world to see. It collectively saddens and angers me to see the sickening misrepresentation of Christ. Some of these folks, obviously, don’t even read the Bible! Do they really know what Jesus said?

I’m not disconnecting myself from this message. I need to start living like I believe just as much as any other church-goer. It is convicting. I do not want to stand by and lead another man to eternal damnation because of my apathetic Christian persona. Anyone with me?

Originally written in October of 2011.

One thought on “Theology of Huck Finn

Leave a Reply

